Star Wars: The Force Awakens | No Spoilers Review


IMG_6411

“I will fulfill our destiny.”

I remember getting sick with the usual cold years ago. I was around 11-12 years old when I had just borrowed 3 CDs from a neighbor of mine: CDs being Star Wars Episodes IV-VI. Having watched Episodes I-III, I decided to give Episode IV: A New Hope a go.

  Needless to say I was absolutely awed. With a strong plot with likable characters, special effects that still hold up today, you can see why many thought the movie brought science fiction to a whole new level. I instantly looked for Episode V: Empire Strikes Back which swoop me off the floor. Then I watched Episode VI: Return of the Jedi. Before I knew it, I had watched the trilogy from evening to early morning. To watch– experience the movie put a magic spell on me. I felt like I was there in the movie, along with the cast, going through each and every moment. That’s how I knew what a good movie was like.

IMG_6413

“I was raised to do one thing…but I’ve got nothing to fight for.”

 

After watching The Force Awakens, I felt that magic rekindle. I went in to watch the movie blind, as I only watched 2 trailers and stayed off all articles with all kinds of theories about why is this or that person doing this or that. I wanted to be surprised and entertained, and surprised and entertained I was. 30 years after the defeat of the Galactic Empire, The First Order rises &  attempts to rule the galaxy. Only a rag-tag group of heroes can stop them, along with the help of the Resistance.

  The galaxy is the superstar of the film, showing us planets beyond Tatooine, Hoth, or even the forest moon of Endor. I personally find the new planet Jakku a much more interesting version of Tatooine. We are then introduced to Poe Dameron (Played by Oscar Isaac), who is the best pilot the Rebellion has got, with a mission that could turn the tides of war. Finn (John Boyega), is a Stormtrooper who wants nothing more but to find freedom from the First Order, who also likes to breathe heavily…a lot. Rey (Daisy Ridley), is a scavenger on the planet Jakku, waiting to be reunited with her family. Kylo Ren (Adam Driver) is a Sith-To-Be that idolizes Darth Vader, pursuing to be as strong as he was. In a sense, all these characters are looking for something. Just as Luke, Leia, and Han Solo were from the original trilogy, they are all destined for much greater things. All the characters, whether old or new, continue to evolve as people, never keeping one character feel stale.
  My personal favorite is Rey, who I believe has as much as potential as Luke Skywalker did from Episode IV. Kylo Ren is second to that, as the acting by Adam Driver and the script made Kylo Ren a compelling, complex villain. The First Order feels much more menacing than the Empire, as the Stormtroopers’ weapons & skills have so greatly improved that the Stormtroopers can actually shoot things. The acting was superb, and the fact that these are actors who aren’t that famous yet, Star Wars: TFA is going to really push their careers forward, and I hope to see their faces in other films soon.

 

temp

“I’m no one.”

 The story is as entertaining as it is gut-wrenching, using nostalgia and new blood to make a movie worth watching. However I could not help but see it borrow elements from Episode IV. It just felt like a homage to A New Hope, but with key differences of course. I don’t mind that, as I know that this film has been a great set-up for a new trilogy of Star Wars.

  J.J. Abrams is no Jar Jar Abrams as he keeps his promise that they would use as less CGI as possible, which was a good thing. CGI isn’t always a good thing, as some things like an army of Stormtroopers feel more intimidating when they’re real. However I do want to say that if you want to watch this film in 3D, that’s fine, but there’s not much difference to watching it without 3D.

 

All in all, this film is one heckuva rollercoaster with its ups and downs, but makes for a sweet ride. It made me cheer, it made me silently scream and fanboy, it made me cry. It can make you forget about Episodes I-III.

8.7/10 stars.

P.S.: Character posters of Kylo Ren, Finn, and Rey were made by me. As for the first image, I do not know who made it as I find it everywhere. If you know who made it, please do tell me so that I can credit the owner.

One comment

  1. Genesaret · January 23, 2016

    Great article, Sam!! Can’t wait to see what other reviews you have in store for us!

    Like

Leave a Reply

